California is one of the strictest states in the country when it comes to laws against those who have committed sex crimes. If you are convicted of a sex crime in California, not only do you potentially face jail time and expensive fines, you will likely also be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. This means you face a lifetime of punishment if you are convicted of a sex crime. However, that could soon change.
A proposed California law that would change the way sex offender registration works in the state recently became one step closer to being passed.
Tiered Registration Bill (SB 421)
SB 421, which was introduced by Senator Scott Wiener (D – San Francisco), would create a tiered sex offender registry in California if it is passed into law.
Under the tiered registration system, the length of time each person convicted of a sex crime must register for would be determined by the severity of the crime committed. So, terms would be:
- Tier 1: Misdemeanor and/or non-violent sex offenders would be required to register as sex offenders for 10 years
- Tier 2: Those who are convicted of serious and/or violent sex offenses would be required to register for 20 years
- Tier 3: Violent sex predators and habitual sex offenders would remain on the registry for the rest of their lives
The hope is that by reforming the registry – which currently contains more than 100,000 people – the public will be better equipped to identify people who present a danger to the community. Additionally, people convicted of lesser offenses would be spared a lifetime of scorn and humiliation that are out of proportion to the crimes they have committed.
Progress on the Bill
On May 25, the Senate Appropriations Committee released SB 421 to the Senate floor for debate. The state Senate heard the bill on May 31, and it was passed by a vote of 24-10. This was a major victory for proponents of an overhauled registration system in California. However, the bill is not law yet.
It will be reviewed by the Public Safety and Appropriations Committees in the State Assembly. In order to become law, the assembly must pass the bill no later than Sept. 15. The governor would then need to sign the bill by Oct. 15 for California to officially use a tiered registration system.
Contact the Sex Criminal Defense Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich Today
If you are seeking relief from the sex offender registry, you should contact a skilled sex crimes lawyer to help you determine if you are eligible for any form of relief. At Wallin & Klarich, our knowledgeable attorneys have more than 35 years of experience helping our clients obtain post-conviction relief. We’ve helped thousands of clients in their time of legal need and we may be able to help you now.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, San Diego, West Covina, Torrance and Victorville, there is an experienced and skilled Wallin & Klarich sex crimes attorney available to help you no matter where you are located.
Contact our offices today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free, no-obligation phone consultation. We will be there when you call.