Sex Offender Attorneys – Relief From the California Sex Offender Registry
Are You in Need of a Sex Offender Attorney?
Perhaps one of the most devastating consequences of being convicted of a sex crime in California is being required to register with your local police department or sheriff’s station and put on the sex offender registry pursuant to California Penal Code Section 290.[i]
If you are convicted of a sex crime in California, you will likely be required to register under the sex offender registry pursuant to Penal Code Section 290. This is a lifetime requirement. That means while living in California, you must register as a sex offender for the rest of your life under PC 290 unless and until you receive legal relief from this requirement.
Being labeled a sex offender could impact your entire life. Your reputation in the community will be tarnished and you may find it difficult to find and maintain employment. You may be required to stay away from certain areas, such as schools and parks, and you could lose your professional license if you are a doctor, lawyer or other licensed professional. That is why it is so important to hire an experienced sex offender attorney to help you relieve your requirement to register and clear your name.
Why Hire Wallin & Klarich?
The sex offender attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been successfully helping people like you get off the sex offender registry for over 35 years. Here is what some of our clients have to say about us:
“I would like to sincerely thank you for helping me with obtaining my Certificate of Rehabilitation. I now realize the importance of obtaining a law firm that has years of experience in criminal law. The way the package was organized and presented to the presiding judge was very impressive to me.
The person that tried to obtain the Certificate of Rehabilitation ahead of us–I could tell that his attorney was not as organized as your firm is. He was denied because his attorney had not prepared him as well as your firm prepared me with testing and organizing the reference letters and other materials necessary to convince the judge that I am truly rehabilitated and a changed person since the date of the crime I committed.
Again, I am truly grateful and humbled by this experience.
God bless you.”
Call Wallin & Klarich Today
You can place your trust in Wallin & Klarich. Our knowledgeable California sex offender lawyers are committed to defending your rights and your freedom. Call us today for immediate help on your case.
For more information on these laws, read below or simply pick up the phone and speak to one of our skilled defense attorneys today.
Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free telephone consultation.
In order to receive legal relief from the sex offender registry requirement, you will need to hire an attorney that is experienced in this practice area. With over 35 years of experience, our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have handled many cases such as yours. We understand that each case is different and we believe that good people sometimes make mistakes. If you have been required to register under the sex offender registry, we strongly encourage you to give us a call. Read on to learn more about how we can help you get off of the sex offender registry in California and use our guide to find out if you qualify under the following circumstances.
Sex Offender Registration Requirements
If you are convicted of a sex offense listed under PC 290, the California Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA) requires that you register as a sex offender for the rest of your natural life. According to California Penal Code Section 290.006, registration can also be added to your sentence by a judge’s discretion if your crime was sexually motivated.
Sex offender registration is for life, regardless of the seriousness of the crime you committed and the date of your conviction. Those who are placed on the sex offender registry are required to register with local law enforcement agencies within five working days of entering the city or county. All sex offender registrants attending school on a college campus also must notify the campus police.
PC 290 registrants must re-register annually. If you are registered as a transient, you will have to re-register every 30 to 90 days. People who are required to register as a sex offender in another state may have to register in California as well. It is best to speak to an experienced attorney to find out if you have to register when moving.
What Happens if You Fail to Register as a Sex Offender?
Some sex offender registrants forget to register or get overwhelmed by this lifetime consequence. What happens to sex offenders who fail to register?
If you do not meet your requirement to register as a sex offender, you could face charges of the separate crime of failure to register as a sex offender. The consequences of this crime depend on the facts of the case. This crime could be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the original crime you had to register for.
How to Get Relief from Sex Offender Registration
Are you tired of paying the lifetime consequence of having your name listed on the sex offender registry? Has the negative stigma of being labeled a sex offender impacted your ability to move forward with your life? You may be able to obtain relief from sex offender registration if you meet certain eligibility requirements.
In order to obtain legal relief from your requirement to register as a sex offender, you will need to hire an attorney that is experienced in this area of law. With more than 35 years of experience handling post-conviction matters for sex crimes, our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have worked on many cases like yours. Our attorneys understand that each case is different, and we believe that good people sometimes make mistakes. If you have been required to register as a sex offender, we strongly encourage you to give us a call.
Read on to learn more about how we may be able to help you get off of the sex offender registry in California and use our guide to find out if you qualify for relief from registration.
Ways To Legally Get Around the Sex Offender Registry in California:
1. A “Certificate of Rehabilitation and Governor’s Pardon”
2. The ‘Traditional’ California Governor’s Pardon”
To legally end your legal obligation to register as a sex offender, you may be able to apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation or Governor’s Pardon. Which of these (if any) is currently available to you depends upon many different factors including:
- The specific penal code section(s) you violated
- How old your conviction is
- How many convictions you have
- Whether you have been convicted of any additional crimes since being convicted of the sex crime that required registration
- Where you live and how long you have lived there
- Whether you are in the military, and
- Whether the offense was designated by the criminal court judge or prosecutor as a misdemeanor or felony California sex crime
If it sounds confusing, that’s because that’s the way it was designed. As we like to say, no one ever lost an election for governor or for the state legislature because they enacted a law that was too confusing for average people to understand.
Wallin & Klarich’s attorneys collectively have decades of experience helping people just like you properly apply for and receive legal relief from the duty to register under the sex offender registry. We know all the ins and outs and all the traps used to put roadblocks in your way – and, most importantly, we know the legal ways to get around them. If you are confused about your eligibility, you should contact our law firm today.
How We Can Help You to Stop Registering as a Sex Offender
If you’re looking for an idea of what relief may be available to you given some of the individual circumstances of your case, we have put together a guide to help give you an idea.
To understand and use our sex offender registry relief guide, read on to get started. Otherwise, see “Petition for a Writ of Mandate”; “Certificate of Rehabilitation and Governor’s Pardon”; or “The ‘Traditional’ California Governor’s Pardon.” and we will provide you with the right information about the topic you’re interested in.
Remember, the guide below is only a guide. You should contact our law firm to discuss the unique circumstances of your case and find out if you qualify for relief from registration.
If you need help answering the questions in our guide, or if you have questions about the sex offender registry topics we discuss on this site, contact our law firm immediately. We’re available any time of the day or night to help you. Helping people just like you is what we’ve been doing for more than 35 years now at Wallin & Klarich.
The Wallin and Klarich Guide to Sex Offender Registration Relief
Before you begin reading our guide, we need to start with some disclaimers. First and foremost is that the sex offender registry relief guide is designed to educate and not to advise. That means our guide should not be used as a substitute for the individual advice of a competent and experienced Wallin & Klarich sex crimes attorney. We can give you specific legal advice once we meet with you and learn about the specifics of your case.
Also, this guide is not intended to cover every possible case or situation. If, for example, you have multiple convictions, have been convicted of another crime since your California sex offense, have criminal sex offense conviction(s) that occurred outside of California, have been convicted of a sex offense in the federal courts or in the military courts, or if you are on probation or parole, this guide will probably not be able to educate you on some of the specific questions and issues you might have.
Now, let’s get started. If you or a loved one were convicted in California of a sex offense and are required to register as a sex offender, please answer the following questions as best as you can. If you want to see how answering the questions below in different ways might affect a person’s case, feel free to do that too. As we said, this guide’s purpose is to educate.
If you’re not sure how to answer any of these questions, or if your case has issues that this guide does not cover, feel free to contact us at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 and one of our experienced sex crime attorneys will gladly help you out. Our attorneys have been helping our clients obtain relief from the sex offender registry for more than 35 years. We understand what it takes to stop your requirement to register and we are here to help you.
1. Were you convicted of violating any of the following Penal Code sections?
(Note: If You Were Convicted Of Multiple Sex Offenses That Require You To Register Under the Sex Offender Registry, And Some Of The Offenses Are Listed Below And Some Are Not Listed Below, Please Answer “No.”)
Penal Code section 286(b)(1)[ii]
Penal Code section 288(c)(1)[ii]
Penal Code section 288a(b)(1)[ii]; or
Penal Code section 289(h)[ii]
2. Did you have a hearing in court during which your lawyer and/or the prosecutor provided argument or evidence to the judge?
(Note: This Hearing May Have Been Called A “Hofsheier” Hearing, Or The Name “Hofsheier” May Have Been Referenced In Relation To The Hearing.)
3. Are you currently serving in the United States Military?
4. Have you lived continuously in the state of California for the last five years; or will you reach five years of continuous California residence within the next six months?
No, I’ve Lived Here A Lot Less Than Five Years, Or I Don’t Live In California At All
5. Are you required to register ONLY because you were convicted of violating one or more of the following California Penal Code sections?
(Note: If You Were Convicted Of One Or More Of The Following Listed California Sex Offenses AND Another California Sex Offense Not Listed Here That Also Requires You To Comply With The Sex Offender Registry, Please Click “No” Below.):
Penal Code Section 311.2(b)[iii]
Penal Code Section 311.2(c)[iii]
Penal Code Section 311.2(d)[iii]
Penal Code Section 311.3[iii]
Penal Code Section 311.10[iii]
Penal Code Section 314[iv]
6. Has it been about seven years (give or take six months) since you were released from custody or put on parole or probation for your California sex crime?
No, It’s Been A Lot Less Than Seven Years
7. Has it been about ten years (give or take six months) since you were released from custody or put on parole/probation?
No, It’s Been A Lot Less Than Ten Years
8. Is your California sex offense conviction currently a misdemeanor or a felony?
9. Were you convicted of a felony violation of ANY of the following California Penal Code sections?
Penal Code Section 286(c)[ii]?
Penal Code Section 288[ii]?
Penal Code Section 288a(c)[ii]?
Penal Code Section 288.5[ii]?
Penal Code Section 289(j)[ii]?
Call today at(877) 4-NO-JAIL (877-466-5245) for a free consultation.
[i] Information on Penal Code 290 retrieved from https://law.onecle.com/california/penal/290.html
[ii] Information on Penal Codes 281-289.6 retrieved from https://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=281-289.6
[iii] Information on Penal Codes 311-312.7 retrieved from http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/face/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=PEN§ionNum=286
[iv] Information on Penal Code 314 retrieved from http://codes.lp.findlaw.com/cacode/PEN/3/1/9/8/s314