Under California Penal Code section 647.6, it is illegal to annoy or molest any minor under the age of 18 while motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor. The sentencing and punishment for annoying or molesting a child can have long-lasting consequences. If you are facing charges for annoying or molesting a child in Los Angeles, you need to hire a Los Angeles Wallin & Klarich Child Molestation Defense Attorney immediately to ensure the best possible outcome in your case.
Charges for annoying or molesting a child in Los Angeles
To convict you of child molestation (PC 647.6), a prosecutor must prove the following:
• You engaged in conduct directed at a minor;
• A normal person would have been disturbed, irritated, offended, or injured by your conduct;
• Your conduct was motived by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor; and
• The minor was under the age of 18 at the time of the conduct.
The crime of annoying or molesting a child does not require that you make physical contact with the victim. Examples of non-physical conduct that can lead to criminal liability include verbal insults, offensive body language, and even taking a photograph of the minor. Nearly any offensive conduct directed at a minor, either physical or verbal, can lead to criminal charges under California Penal Code section 647.6.
Annoying or molesting a child sentencing and punishment
According to the California Penal Code section 647.6, annoying or molesting a child is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in county jail and a $5,000 fine.
If you have been convicted of a prior felony for a sex offense involving a minor, this offense can be charged as a felony, which is punishable by up to 6 years in state prison.
You will also be required to register as a sex offender pursuant to PC 290 (link). If you are required to register as a sex offender, your picture, home address, conviction(s) and other identifying information may be posted on the Megan’s Law website for the public to access. Even more frightening is the speed at which the popular “designer laws” are being passed by politicians at the state and local government level, restricting where a sex offender may lawfully live and be present. Most registered sex offenders report severe difficulty finding any meaningful employment or affordable housing because of these laws. This can affect you both personally and professionally.
Defenses to a charge of annoying or molesting a child under 18
There are a number of defenses that a Los Angeles Child Molestation Defense Attorney at Wallin & Klarich can raise on your behalf. Your attorney can argue that:
• You held a good faith belief that the victim was 18 years of age or older;
• Your conduct was not directed at a minor;
• Your conduct was not motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor; and
• Your conduct would not have disturbed, irritated, offended or injured a normal person.
Each of these defenses can be raised depending upon the facts of your case. Be sure to consult a Los Angeles Child Molestation Defense Attorney at Wallin & Klarich to learn more.
Finding an Experienced Child Molestation Defense Attorney in Los Angeles
If you are confronted with accusations of annoying or molesting a child under 18 in Los Angeles, the first step you must take is to contact an experienced Los Angeles Child Molestation Criminal Defense Attorney who is familiar with annoying and molesting a child cases. With offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, and Sherman Oaks, Wallin & Klarich has successfully defended annoying or molesting a child cases for over 30 years. We will fight for your freedom and make sure that you receive the best possible outcome in your case.
Call us today at (877) 466-5245 or submit our intake form online. We will get through this together.