California Penal Code section 314 defines indecent exposure as willfully and lewdly exposing your private parts in a public place or any place where people would be offended or annoyed by such conduct.
If you are convicted of indecent exposure in Orange County—even as a first-time offender—you will be required to register as a sex offender under Penal Code Section 290. With your personal and professional reputation at stake, it is very important for you to hire an experienced Wallin & Klarich Orange County criminal defense attorney immediately.
Indecent Exposure Sentencing and Punishment in Orange County
• Misdemeanor indecent exposure applies if you have no prior indecent exposure convictions on your record and is punishable by six months in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.
• Felony indecent exposure applies if you have no prior convictions for indecent exposure but have a prior conviction for lewd acts with a minor (PC 288). Felony indecent exposure is punishable by 16 months, 2 or 3 years in county jail and a maximum $10,000 fine.
• Aggravated indecent exposure applies if you are convicted for exposing yourself within an inhabited dwelling, building or trailer coach without consent. This is a “wobbler” offense, which means it can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor.
o Misdemeanor aggravated indecent exposure is punishable by up to a year in county jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.
o Felony aggravated indecent exposure is punishable by 16 months, 2 or 3 years in county jail and a maximum $10,000 fine.
• Duty to register as a sex offender: Regardless of whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony, the court will require you to register as a sex offender per California Penal Code section 290. This duty requires you to annually update your registration with a local law enforcement agency for as long as you work, live, or attend school in California. If you fail to register as a sex offender, you can face another criminal charge for violating Penal Code section 290.
Fortunately, the experienced Orange County criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich may be able to secure a substantially reduced sentence. In lieu of a lengthy jail sentence, the court may:
• Place you on probation and impose a reduced jail sentence
• Place you on probation with no jail time, but order you to do community service or a work release program
• Allow you to serve your time in custody on weekends or on
Although committing an act of indecent exposure in Orange County is a serious charge, our attorneys may be able to use your clean criminal history and raise viable defenses that could entirely release you from criminal liability. Consulting with an Orange County Wallin & Klarich indecent exposure attorney in the early stages of investigation or upon arrest can help your case tremendously.
Finding an Experienced Orange County Indecent Exposure Defense Attorney
The sentencing and punishment for indecent exposure in Orange County can change your life profoundly, especially for a first-time offender. If you or someone you know has been accused of this offense, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will carefully review the facts and the law to give you the best representation possible. Wallin & Klarich’s Orange County defense team has over 30 years of experience in protecting clients from indecent exposure charges.
If you are a first-time offender facing prosecution for indecent exposure in Orange County, call our talented and professional defense attorneys today at (877) 466-5245 We can get through this together.