You Can Face Criminal Charges for Hiring a Prostitute in California
In California, anyone who engages in prostitution (even if you are the customer) can face misdemeanor charges of “disorderly conduct” – or what is commonly known as a prostitution charge.
What is Solicitation?
Under Penal Code Section 647(b), you are held to have engaged in prostitution if you agree to engage in any sexual act or lewd conduct with another person in exchange for money or other benefits. As stated earlier, the charge of prostitution is not a charge only for prostitutes; it can also be charged against customers or “johns” as they are sometimes called.
Although a misdemeanor, the penalties can be harsh. A conviction can result in a county jail sentence of up to six months and/or a $1,000 fine. Also keep in mind that prostitution offenses are “priorable,” which means that the sentence is more severe for every subsequent prostitution conviction.
Horrible Prostitution Punishment
If you are convicted of prostitution, you may also be required to register as a sex offender pursuant to California Penal Code 290. Although it is not required by law, a judge can decide to impose this requirement as part of your sentence.
A conviction for prostitution can have very severe legal consequences and can tarnish your name and reputation. You should not face prostitution charges alone; you should retain the assistance of a skilled defense attorney. A Riverside defense attorney from Wallin & Klarich have been in practice for over 30 years and can help you through the process. Call our office today at 877-230-1528. We will be there when you call.