Certificate of Rehabilitation and the New Sex Offender Registry Law
Lawmakers passed legislation in 2017 that will lead to a major overhaul of the California sex offender registration system, changing lifetime registration to a three-tiered system requiring registration for 10 years, 20 years or life depending on the crime committed.
However, the new sex offender registration system will not become effective until 2021. So, is there anything you can you do to end your requirement to register as a sex offender until that date?
Can a Certificate of Rehabilitation End Sex Offender Registration?
A Certificate of Rehabilitation is a special court order that serves as a declaration that, in the court’s opinion, you have been completely rehabilitated since the time you were convicted of a crime. It is a statement by the court that you have served an adequate punishment for your crime and that you have been a productive, upstanding member of society since you committed the crime.
Obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation will not erase your criminal record, but it could have an enormous impact on your life. It may restore some of your rights, including being able to apply for professional licenses with state boards. Depending on the circumstances of your case, obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation may also end your requirement to register as a sex offender under PC 290.
How is a Governor’s Pardon Different from a Certificate of Rehabilitation?
A Certificate of Rehabilitation also serves as an automatic application for a Governor’s Pardon, which is an order from the governor that forgives you for your crimes and ends your sentence.
Being pardoned by the governor could restore some of your rights, including the right to vote and the right to serve on a jury. It also could grant you relief from sex offender registration, depending upon the facts of your sex crime conviction.
Is it Too Late to Apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation?
So, now that sex offender registry reform has passed, is a Certificate of Rehabilitation and Governor’s Pardon still available to you? The answer is yes!
You are able to seek a Certificate of Rehabilitation until July 1, 2021. You should speak to a skilled sex crimes lawyer immediately about applying for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.
After July 1, 2021, Senate Bill 384 will be in effect, and that will change the process for ending registration. Once the new sex offender registry takes effect, you will have to seek the help of an experienced sex crimes attorney to help you file a petition for removal from the registry once your 10- or 20-year term has been completed.
Our Sex Crimes Attorneys Can Help You Apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation Now
You do not have to wait until California’s new sex offender registry laws take effect to seek relief from sex offender registration. Speak to an experienced sex crimes lawyer today to find out if you are eligible to end your requirement to register.
Our skilled sex crimes lawyers at Wallin & Klarich have been helping our clients obtain relief from sex offender registration for more than 35 years. Let us help you now.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, San Diego, West Covina, Torrance and Victorville, there is an experienced Wallin & Klarich sex crimes attorney available near you no matter where you are located.
Contact our offices today at (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.