California’s Megan’s Law is designed to provide the public with certain information on the whereabouts of sex offenders. Megan’s Law is named after seven-year-old Megan Kanka, who was raped and killed by a convicted sex offender who had moved across the street from her family’s residence without their knowledge.
According to City-data.com, as of Oct. 8, there are 277 registered sex offenders in the city of Hemet. This number includes all sexual offenders that are required to register as sex offenders under PC 290.
If you live in Hemet and have been convicted of a sex offense, you may qualify for exclusion from the Megan’s Law website. The experienced sex crimes attorneys at Wallin & Klarich can provide you with all of the information you need to determine if you qualify for this exclusion.
Qualifying for Exclusion from Megan’s Law
Under California law, if you are convicted of violating PC 288(a), you will be required to register with the local authorities as a sex offender. California Penal Code 288(a) is violated when any person engages in sexual conduct with a child under the age of 14. The offender must intend to arouse the sexual desires of the child or the offender to be convicted. Once convicted, the offender’s picture, criminal history, address and other relevant information will be displayed on the Megan’s Law website.
All hope is not lost because there may be a way for you to get your name excluded from the website if you have been convicted of this offense. The conditions to be excluded are very stringent and must be completely satisfied before you can be excluded from the website.
It is important that you understand that exclusion from the website does not mean that you do not have to register as a sex offender in Hemet under PC 290. It also does not mean that you no longer have to continuously update your information with the local law enforcement agency in Hemet.
Do I Get off Megan’s Law in Hemet?
In order to qualify for an exclusion from Megan’s Law website, you must have successfully completed, or you are successfully completing probation pursuant to PC 1203.066(c). In addition, you must be a direct relative of the child victim. Direct relatives include parents, step-parents, grandparents and siblings.
You will not be considered for exclusion if you engaged in substantial sexual conduct with the child victim. Substantial sexual conduct is defined as penetration of the vagina or rectum of either the victim or offender. Penetration can be achieved by the penis of the victim or the offender or by any foreign object. The definition is also read to include oral copulation (commonly known as oral sex).
Your lawyer will file an application on your behalf with the Department of Justice for removal from Megan’s Law website. Keep in mind that if it is determined that you are a violent sexual predator, you will be ineligible for the exclusion regardless of whether you meet the requirements. It usually takes the Department of Justice about 30 days to make a decision regarding an offender’s application.
Let the Sex Crimes Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich Help You Now
Here at Wallin & Klarich, we understand the mixed emotions you must be feeling about having to register as a sex offender. That is why our experienced criminal defense lawyers are here to help. With over 30 years’ of experience, Wallin & Klarich has been able to successfully help hundreds of our clients obtain exclusion from the Megan’s Law website. In addition, we have helped our clients obtain Certificates of Rehabilitation and Governor’s Pardons.
Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will get through this together.