How to Stop Sex Offender Registration for PC 647.6
If you’ve been convicted of a sex crime, you will probably be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. This includes the crime of harassing or annoying a minor under California Penal Code Section 647.6.
Registering as a sex offender can have a major impact on you. However, if you were convicted of this crime, it may be easier for you to legally end your requirement to register as a sex offender.
Certificate of Rehabilitation for PC 647.6
One potential option to clean up your criminal record is a Certificate of Rehabilitation. If you were convicted of annoying or molesting a child under PC 647.6, you are eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation. However, you are only eligible if you:
- Were released from custody and have not been incarcerated for another crime since being released
- Have completed probation or parole and are not on probation or parole for any other felony conviction
- Have lived in California for at least five years before filing your application, AND
- Have waited a satisfactory period to show that you have been rehabilitated
Typically, a “satisfactory period” is five years for a sex crime. This is in addition to the five-year California residency requirement, so you will not likely be able to obtain a Certificate of Rehabilitation unless it has been 10 years since your conviction.
Additionally, it may be best to expunge your conviction before you apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation. Your attorney can help you apply for an expungement.
Benefits of a Certificate of Rehabilitation for a Sex Crime
There are many ways a Certificate of Rehabilitation could benefit you if you were convicted of annoying or molesting a child. If your conviction was a misdemeanor, the biggest advantage for you is that a Certificate of Rehabilitation alone will stop your requirement to register as a sex offender.
If you were convicted of a felony for annoying or molesting a child or most other sex crimes, obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation is only the first step in stopping sex offender registration. This Certificate of Rehabilitation will also serve as an automatic application for a Governor’s Pardon, but that does not mean you will automatically be pardoned by the California governor. Most sex crimes require that you obtain a Governor’s Pardon in order to stop registering as a sex offender, but misdemeanor PC 647.6 is not one of these crimes.
Obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation could make it easier for you to find a job and acquire auto or home loans. Most importantly, it could help you drop the “sex offender” label so that you could live your life as a productive member of society.
Speak to an Attorney About a Certificate of Rehabilitation Today
Do you want to stop living with the consequences of your criminal conviction? Are you tired of having the sex offender label attached to your name? You should speak to a criminal defense attorney about your options immediately. You may be eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation, which will end your requirement to register as a sex offender.
Our skilled and knowledgeable attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been successfully helping our clients obtain post-conviction relief in California for more than 35 years. Let us help you now.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, Torrance, West Covina, San Diego, Victorville and Ventura, an experienced Wallin & Klarich lawyer is available to help you no matter where you work or live.
Contact us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.