What do I need to know before I hire a Riverside Indecent Exposure attorney? (PC 314)
Before hiring a Riverside Indecent Exposure attorney, it is important for you to understand what is at stake. An indecent exposure charge in Riverside is taken very seriously and can completely change your life. California Penal Code section 314 defines indecent exposure as willfully and lewdly exposing your private parts in a public place or any place where people would be offended or annoyed by such conduct.
For example, if you are convicted for indecent exposure, you will be required to register as a sex offender under Penal Code Section 290.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for indecent exposure in Riverside, it is imperative that you hire a Riverside Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer as soon as possible. Your Riverside Indecent Exposure Attorney will go over your case and will present the best possible defense against your indecent exposure charge.
Prosecuting Indecent Exposure in Riverside
In order to convict you of indecent exposure, the prosecution must prove the following:
1. You willfully exposed your genitals in the presence of another person(s) who might be offended or annoyed by your actions AND
2. When you exposed yourself, you acted lewdly by intending to direct public attention to your genitals for the purpose of sexually arousing or gratifying yourself or another person, or sexually offending another person
Indecent Exposure Sentencing in Riverside
Under California Penal Code section 314, an indecent exposure penalty depends on whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Without proper representation, you could face one of the following punishments:
• Misdemeanor indecent exposure applies if you have no prior indecent exposure convictions on your record and is punishable by six months in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.
• Felony indecent exposure applies if you have no prior convictions for indecent exposure but have a prior conviction for lewd acts with a minor (PC 288). Felony indecent exposure is punishable by 16 months, 2 or 3 years in county jail and a maximum $10,000 fine.
• Aggravated indecent exposure applies if you are convicted for exposing yourself within an inhabited dwelling, building or trailer coach without consent. This is a “wobbler” offense, which means it can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor.
• Duty to register as a sex offender: Regardless of whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony, the court will require you to register as a sex offender per California Penal Code section 290.
Defenses to Indecent Exposure in Riverside
Although committing an act of indecent exposure in Riverside is a serious charge with very harsh consequences, our attorneys may be able to raise a number of defenses that could entirely release you from criminal liability. Hiring a Riverside indecent exposure attorney in the early stages of investigation or upon arrest can help your case tremendously. Our attorneys can argue:
• You did not expose your genitals
• The exposure did not occur in the presence of another
• Lack of intent
• Mistaken identity
The first and most critical step you must take is to obtain a team of Riverside defense lawyers who have experience in indecent exposure cases. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 30 years of experience in successfully defending clients against indecent exposure charges. We have offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Ventura.
Call us today at (877) 466-5245. We will get through this together.