You can be charged with indecent exposure under California Penal Code section 314.1 if you willfully expose your private parts in a public place.
In order for you to be charged with indecent exposure the prosecution must show:
– (1) That you exposed your private parts or genitals in the presence of another person who might be offended or annoyed by such conduct, and
– (2) When you exposed yourself, you intended to direct public attention to your private parts or genitals to offend another person or to sexually arouse yourself or another person.
The sentencing and punishment for indecent exposure can have a severe impact on your life. The harshest punishment for a conviction of indecent exposure is that you will be required to annually register as a sex offender with law enforcement pursuant to California Penal Code section 290.
In addition to having to register as a sex offender you can also be subject to fines and jail time. If this is your first indecent exposure offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and sentenced up to six months in county jail and will be subject to a maximum $1,000 fine.
If you have a prior indecent exposure conviction, the offense can be charged as a felony which carries a sentence of 16 months, 2 or 3 years in the county jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
If you have been arrested for indecent exposure it is important that you seek the help and assistance of an experienced California criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 30 years of experience defending clients against indecent exposure charges and other crimes that require you to register as a sex offender. We have offices in Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Riverside, Ventura, San Diego and Orange County. Call us today at (877) 466-5245 or fill out one of our contact forms online. We will get through this together.