Will I have to register as a sex offender in San Bernardino if I am convicted of child molestation? (PC 290)
Under California Penal Code section 647.6, it is illegal to annoy or molest any minor under the age of 18 while motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor. The crime of annoying or molesting a child does not require that you make physical contact with the victim. The sentencing and punishment for annoying or molesting a child can have long-lasting consequences.
If you are convicted of Penal Code Section 647.6 in San Bernardino the law requires that you be ordered to register as a sex offender per Penal Code Section 290. This is a lifetime registration requirement.
Sex Offender Registration for Child Molestation
Penal Code section 290 includes child molestation on the list of offenses that requires registration. This means if you are convicted of child molestation in San Bernardino, you will be required to register with local law enforcement as a sex offender. As a result, you will be required to annually update your registration with a local law enforcement agency for as long as you work, live, or attend school in California. Registration is also required every time you change your name, address, or your employment. It is important to remember that failure to register as a sex offender for child molestation in San Bernardino is a crime. If you are found guilty of violating Penal Code Section 290 you will be facing up to one year in county jail if the reason you had to register was due to a conviction for misdemeanor child molestation (PC 647.6). However, if you are required to register as a sex offender (PC 290) due to a felony molestation conviction then your sentence for violating PC 290 can be up to three years in jail.
In addition, personal information such as your name, address and photograph are released to the public via a sex offender website run by the Department of Justice. This website will make it difficult for you to find a place to live or work.
Defenses to a charge of annoying or molesting a child under 18 in San Bernardino
Although the possibility of sex offender registration is serious, there are a number of defenses that a San Bernardino sex crimes attorney can raise on your behalf to get your child molestation charge reduced or dismissed. Your attorney can argue:
• You held a good faith belief that the victim was 18 years of age or older
• Your conduct was not directed at a minor
• Your conduct was not motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the minor
• Your conduct would not have disturbed, irritated, offended or injured a normal person
Each of these defenses can be raised depending upon the facts of your individual case. Be sure to consult a San Bernardino child sexual abuse attorney at Wallin & Klarich to learn more.
San Bernardino Sex Crimes Attorney
The first and most critical step you must take is to obtain a team of San Bernardino sex crimes attorneys who have experience in child molestation cases. With offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, and Sherman Oaks, the attorneys at Wallin & Klarich, have over 30 years of experience in winning child molestation cases. We have been successful in defending our clients and keeping them off of the Sex Offender registry.
Call us today at (877) 466-5245. We will get through this together.