The possible punishment you face for a misdemeanor conviction under California Penal Code Section 647.6 for child molestation could have a substantial effect on your life. You need the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich to fight for your freedom.
Prosecution for Annoying or Molesting a Child under 18 years of age
To be convicted for annoying or molesting a child under 18 years old, the prosecutor must prove that:
a) You engaged in conduct directed at a minor;
b) A normal person would have been disturbed, irritated, offended, or injured by your conduct;
c) Your conduct was motivated by an abnormal or unnatural sexual interest in the minor victim; and
d) The victim was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense.
Sentencing for Annoying or Molesting a Child under 18 years of age
For your first conviction under California Penal Code Section 647.6, you are facing a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $5,000. If you have a prior misdemeanor conviction for annoying or molesting a child, then your subsequent conviction will be punished by imprisonment in state prison. If you have a prior felony conviction for a sex offense involving a minor, you may be sentenced to up to six years in state prison.
In addition to possible jail time and fines, you must also register as a sex offender with the local law enforcement agency if you are convicted of annoying or molesting a child under the age of 18. This duty to register as a sex offender requires you to annually update your registration with a local law enforcement agency for as long as you live, work, or attend school in California. Furthermore, your name, address, and photograph will be released to the public through a Department of Justice sex offender website.
The consequences of sex offender registration can have a negative impact on both your personal and professional life. You should contact a Wallin & Klarich attorney to help you avoid these harmful consequences.
Defenses to Annoying or Molesting a Child under 18 years of age
The lawyers at Wallin & Klarich can help you raise the appropriate defenses to this charge. Common defenses to annoying or molesting a child include:
1. You did not come into contact with the victim in any way
2. You had a good faith belief that the victim was not a minor;
3. Your conduct was not directed at the minor victim;
4. Your conduct would not have irritated, disturbed, offended, or injured a normal person; and
5. Your conduct was not motivated by an abnormal or unnatural sexual interest in the minor victim.
Your Wallin & Klarich attorney can examine the facts and circumstances surrounding your case to use the best defense for you. We may be able to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Call Wallin & Klarich today
If you are being accused of molesting a child under the age of 18, it is important that you consult with a Wallin & Klarich Riverside child molestation defense attorney. Our attorneys have tremendous success defending our clients facing child molestation charges. We have over 30 years of experience helping our clients avoid jail time and the devastating consequence of sex offender registration. We have offices located in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, West Covina, Victorville, Torrance, and Sherman Oaks.
Call us today at (877) 466-5245. Your freedom is at stake and we will strive to achieve the best possible outcome in your case.